Texas law allows you to have a surgical abortion up to 20 weeks (5 months) into your pregnancy, unless you have severe health problems or there is a fetal abnormality. The abortion pill, or medication abortion, is only available until about seven weeks into your pregnancy, and is not offered by all clinics. If you have not yet confirmed with a clinic how far along you are in your pregnancy, think back to the first day of your last normal menstrual period and count the number of weeks since that day to get an estimate of how far along you are. If you can’t remember, or if your last period was unusually light, you may need to get a sonogram to determine your gestation.
The farther along you are in your pregnancy, the more expensive the abortion will be. Texas law requires that you receive a sonogram prior to having an abortion, so make your appointment for a sonogram sooner rather than later to determine exactly how far along you are and to make sure you don’t delay the pregnancy until an abortion becomes very expensive.
You can only have an abortion in Texas after 20 weeks if there is a medical emergency. If you wish to have an abortion past 20 weeks, some states (like New Mexico) will allow you to have an abortion up to 24 weeks. Visit this website for more information. If you are able to travel to New Mexico, this clinic may be able to help you.
- Is it legal to get an abortion in Texas if I’m under 18?
- Can I get an abortion without my parents knowing and without my parent’s permission if I’m under 18?
- How do I get an abortion without telling my parents or getting their permission?
- Where can I get an abortion in Texas?
- How much do abortions cost? How will I pay for my abortion?
- Is it safe for a teenager to get an abortion?
Any other questions? Call us! 1-866-999-5263