If you have questions about how to access abortion or birth control in Texas, we’re here to help. Here are a few of our most frequently asked questions.
If you have more questions or want to talk to someone about your situation, do not hesitate to contact our 24/7 phone and text hotline at 1-866-999-5263.
1. What is judicial bypass?
A judicial bypass for abortion is an order from a judge that allows a minor to get an abortion without the notification or consent of their parents. The judicial bypass procedure is entirely confidential. No one will know your name or that you filed an application. Read more.
2. Where can I get an abortion?
If you are seeking an abortion, it is important that you only go to a clinic that offers abortion services. Texas law requires you to get a sonogram or ultrasound and pregnancy options counseling at the same clinic where you will have your abortion. Call one of these clinics immediately to make your appointment. Find a clinic.
3. How do I pay for my abortion?
The cost of an abortion varies depending on how far along you are in your pregnancy and which abortion clinic you choose. The average cost of an abortion is around $500 in the first trimester, and will greatly increase to $850 or more in the second trimester. The earlier you are in your pregnancy, the less expensive the abortion will be. It is very important to make the appointment for your abortion as soon as you are certain that you want to terminate your pregnancy, as the cost will increase rapidly. If you are unable to pay for your abortion, there are many local and national funding networks that can help you. Learn more.
4. How far along can I get an abortion?
Texas law allows you to have a surgical abortion up to 20 weeks (5 months) into your pregnancy, unless you have severe health problems or there is a fetal abnormality. If you wish to have an abortion past 20 weeks, some states (like New Mexico) will allow you to have an abortion up to 24 weeks. Learn more.
5. How can I get birth control, even if I'm under 18?
Title X clinics provide affordable, confidential birth control, even if you’re under 18. These are the only clinics in Texas where minors can get birth control without a parent’s permission. Title X clinics provide subsidized care based on your income, which mean that your care may be at a reduced cost or free, depending on how much money you make. Find a clinic.
From the Blog
The My Body, My Future Act to Protect Youth Access to Birth Control was Filed in the Texas Legislature
State Representative Ana-Maria Ramos (D-Dallas) and State Senator Nathan Johnson (D-Dallas) have filed the My Body, My Future Act, HB 1176 and SB 366, to allow young people under the age of 18 to consent to birth control in Texas. With a statewide abortion ban in...
After 3 and 1/2 years as executive director, I am writing to share that have accepted a new opportunity and will be leaving the role in January 2023. It has been been an incredible joy to be part of Jane's Due Process. I have felt so lucky and honored to get to work...
In 2022, youth in Texas were faced with two devastating realities: the 6-week abortion ban in Texas and the overturning of Roe v. Wade. At Jane’s Due Process we sought to help Texas teens meet these challenges by focusing on what we do best - helping youth overcome...
Need help? Let’s talk.
You can also call or text us any time at 866-999-5263.